Meat Free Monday

We save 37,500 litres of water every Meat Free Monday!

What Meat Free Monday?

Meat Free Monday is a movement started in 2009 by Paul, Mary, and Stella McCartney.The aim of the campaign is to raise awareness of the detrimental environmental impact of eating meat, and to encourage people to help slow climate change, conserve precious natural resources and improve their health by having at least one meat free day each week.

Animal agriculture facts

  • Global animal agriculture water consumption ranges from 34-76 trillion gallons annually.
  • Most of the water humans consume is not from homes or day to day use. In fact, only 5% of water consumed in the US is by private homes. However, approximately 55% of water consumed is for animal agriculture. Animal agriculture uses 20%-33% of all fresh water consumption in the world today.
  • Animal agriculture makes up 18% of the world’s greenhouse gas emissions, which is more than all of the emissions caused by transportation combined.

Moreover, water contamination is also a huge problem caused by livestock. Most water from industrial waste goes back into usage surface without the correct treatment. That water is then used for agriculture. More damagingly, manure and containments are disguised as “nutrients” such as nitrogen, phosphorous, and potassium and goes into more supposedly clean bodies of water due to run off from rain. The cycle then repeats itself.

 

Agriculture takes up 70% of the earth’s fresh water resources, which is dominated through the rearing of livestock. Based on several studies, producing 1 kg of rice takes approximately 3,500 liters of water while 1 kg of beef requires about 15,000 liters!

What are we doing about it?

There are many more disturbing statistics like the ones above and that is why, at Life Solutions, we have committed to reducing our meat consumption with Meatless Mondays. Every Monday, our in-house cook provides freshly cooked vegetarian and sometimes vegan dishes that are not only delicious but environmentally friendly.

 

Our cook estimates that she would normally purchase 2.5 kgs of meat when she visits the fresh markets each morning for ingredients to cater for our office of over 20 people. Therefore, according to the above statistics, by removing meat from our lives every Monday – for just one day of the week, we are saving up to 37,500 liters of water, every Monday, every week. Life Solutions saves nearly 2 million liters of water every year!

 

We care for our planet and our team’s health, so we have taken these steps to reduce our meat consumption, thereby decreasing our water waste as well as our energy and resources consumption. This one of the ways that Life Solutions lives our mission of inspiring China’s transition to clean and healthy drinking water through outstanding customer service and environmentally friendly solutions. We are happy to give talks about Meat Free Monday and any other social impact initiatives we do. For more information, please contact us below.

素食星期一

每一个素食星期一,我们能节省37,500升水!

什么是素食星期一?

素食星期一 是由Paul,Mary和Stella McCartney于2009年开始的活动。该活动的目的是提高人们对吃肉所造成的有害环境影响的认知,并鼓励人们帮助减缓气候变化,保护珍贵的自然资源。并且每周至少一次的素食日能帮助改善人们的身体健康。

动物农业的现状

  • 全球动物农业用水量每年从34-76万亿加仑不等。
  • 人类消耗的大部分水不是来自家庭或日常使用。事实上,美国只有5%的用水来自私人住宅。然而,大约55%的用水源于动物农业。动物农业占当今世界淡水消耗量的20%-33%。
  • 动物农业占世界温室气体排放量的18%,这超过了交通运输总排放量的全部。

此外,水污染也是由牲畜引起的巨大问题。大部分工业用水会在没有正确处理的情况下返回表层,然后这些水会被用于农业。更具破坏性的是,粪便和部分重金属被伪装成“营养物质”,如氮,磷和钾,并且被雨水冲刷进入更加干净的水体中,然后循环重复。

 

70%淡水资源用在农业上,这主要是通过饲养牲畜来实现的。根据几项研究,生产1公斤大米需要大约3,500升水,而1公斤牛肉需要大约15,000升水!

水福来的行动

还有更多如上所示的令人不安的统计数据,这就是为什么我们水福来致力于通过素食星期一减少肉类消费。每个星期一,阿姨都提供新鲜烹制的素食,有时还提供纯素食,不仅美味而且环保。

 

还有更多如上所示的令人不安的统计数据,这就是为什么我们水福来致力于通过素食星期一减少肉类消费。每个星期一,阿姨都提供新鲜烹制的素食,有时还提供纯素食,不仅美味而且环保。

 

我们关心地球和我们团队的健康,因此我们采取了这些措施来减少肉类消耗,从而减少水资源浪费以及能源和资源消耗。这是一件帮助水福来实现使命的事。我们很高兴就素食星期一以及我们所做的任何其他社会影响举措进行讨论。欲了解更多信息,请联系我们。