Yangtze River Plastic Pick Up

We see it on our social media feeds, we hear about it in documentaries, we may have been taught about it in school: Plastic.

Just one single plastic foam cup takes 50 years to degrade. Plastic bottles, one of the most commonly used plastics, can take up to 450 years to degrade! Here at Life Solutions, we wanted to see how these kinds of numbers come to life in Shanghai and to make a positive difference to improve water quality and ecosystem health.

On August 8th 2018, Life Solutions China partnered with Green Initiatives to learn more about our local environment and make a positive difference for marine life and ecosystems.

The team was briefed with facts and statistics before and during the rubbish clean up. The location Green Initiatives chose was Baoshan Wusong Pao Taiwan Wetland Forest National Park. This important National park is a “protected” area located on the last section of the Yangtze delta, facing the northeast shore of Chongming island.

“It is an ecosystem of special interest, adapted to changing conditions of a littoral marshland with fluvial and oceanic influences. Besides a rich variety of flora, supported by rich alluvial sediments and abundant humidity, the salty winds and flooded soils’ variable conditions affect the development of wetland communities. The shoreline is permanently exposed to the influence of tidal oscillation, water currents and the river flow, resulting in a high erosion of nutrients and soil particles that are dynamically balanced with the constant input of rich river sediments.”

Life Solutions and Green Initiatives staff worked all day picking up trash along the Yangtze River. Feeling this was an important educational and socially impactful experience, we felt proud to help protect the river water and the organisms living in the wetland.

长江塑料回收

素食星期一

我们在社交媒体上看到它,我们在纪录片中听到它,我们可能在学校里学过它 —— 塑料

仅一个泡沫塑料杯的降解过程就需要50年。塑料瓶,作为最常用的塑料之一,甚至需要降解450年之久!在水福来,我们想了解上海塑料垃圾的情况,并期望通过我们的行动,改善水质和生态系统。

2018年8月8日,为了深入了解当地环境,为海洋生物和生态系统做出积极贡献,水福来与绿色倡议合作这一回收计划。

在清理垃圾之前和整个过程中,工作人员向我们的团队简要介绍了一系列真实情况和统计数据。这次活动的地点由绿色倡议选出,是位于宝山区的吴淞炮台湾湿地森林公园。这个湿地公园被作为保护区,位于长江三角洲的最后一段,面朝崇明岛的东北海岸。

“这是一个特别有趣的生态系统,它适应了因河流和海洋影响而不断变化的滨海沼泽地的条件。除了多样的植物种类,在丰富的冲积沉积物和足够的湿度支持下,海风和淹水土壤的多变条件也影响着湿地群落的发育。海岸线长期受到潮汐振荡、水流和河流流动的影响,造成营养物质和土壤颗粒的高度侵蚀,而这些养分和土壤颗粒正是依赖不断补充丰富的河流沉积物来达到动态平衡的。“

水福来和绿色倡议的工作人员那一整天都在长江边回收塑料。我们认为这是一段能够带来积极社会影响的经历,我们也为能够保护河流、湿地和栖居在那里的生物而自豪。

社会效益
社会效益
社会效益