Celebrating Earth Day 2020

What is estimated to have an average value of 33 trillion US dollars each year? What is something we cannot live without? If you guessed the global economy, you were off. If you guessed, the economic value of water, you were close.

The earth provides all that is needed for life to exist and thrive. It is the basis of our global economy. In 1997, the economic value of 17 ecosystem services in nature were estimated by top analysts to be between 16-54 trillion US dollars per year. Businesses harvest this wealth by turning the earth’s raw natural materials – minerals, food, fibre, chemicals – into the many things that make up our lives: from cars, food and mobile phones to office buildings, bowls and cups. Strong, global economic growth has meant improvements in quality of life. It’s also meant pollution, ecosystem degradation and species loss.

The 2005 Millennium Ecosystem Assessment found that 60% of 24 ecosystem services were ‘being degraded or used unsustainably.’ Our economic system has helped nations to become wealthy, yet has not taken into account the environmental costs or impacts of things like habitat disruption, water pollution or species loss.

(Photo credit: Counterpoint.lk)

“Humans have been degrading and depleting ecosystems for centuries, even millennia. Yet the process has accelerated in the past fifty years [….] The resulting loss of ecosystem services often has significant social and economic costs [….] The global marine fishing industry, landing a catch just under $100 billion per year, is at risk of collapse in the next forty years. Also at risk are an estimated 35 million jobs, mainly in small-scale and artisanal fisheries, and the health of more than a billion people in the developing world, who depend on fish as their main or only source of animal protein.” By measuring ecosystem services – and increases or decreases of life-supporting value, humans are better able to manage and reduce our environmental impact.

Though some may associate global Earth Day with hippies and early 1970s North America, the day has come to represent a globally-inclusive movement for environmental sustainability. Earth Day includes all sectors in a country – public, private, not-for-profit and civil society. The aim is to show the world that people care about the earth and to support positive change for people and planet. 2020 marks the 50th anniversary of Earth Day, and there will be events across the world, including in China.

(Photo credit: Hawaiimagazine.com)

With a mission of inspiring China’ transition to safe and healthy drinking water through outstanding customer service and environmentally responsible solutions, Life Solutions is proud to support Earth Day. Our long-lasting, energy efficient clean drinking water products provide essential hydration for customers. They also avoid the use of polluting single-use plastic.

Finally, we are proud of our social impact partners Green Initiatives and Collective Responsibility. These organisations are creating awareness and understanding of the environmental, economic and social challenges that people in Asia are facing. They also offer programs and services in the greater China region that create sustainability, quality of life and business benefits.

The value of a life – and of all life – is far beyond economic value. The costs of inaction and of consumption of highly polluting products far out-weight the benefits of more sustainable habits and products. We all call earth home. On this Earth Day, let’s do what we can to make a positive difference.

We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors. We borrow it from our children.

Native American proverb

For any inquiries about plastic-free, sustainable clean drinking water systems, feel free to contact us here:

Please prove you are human by selecting the Cup.

庆祝2020年世界地球日

是什么预估每年平均有33万亿美元的价值?没有什么我们将无法生存?如果您猜是全球经济,那您就错了。如果您猜到了水的价值,那您就接近答案了。

地球为生命的生存和繁荣提供了一切所需。这是我们全球经济的基础。1997年,顶级科学家估计自然界中17种生态系统服务的经济价值在每年16-54万亿美元之间。企业通过将地球上的天然原材料(矿物质、食物、纤维、化学药品)转化为构成我们生活的许多事物来获取财富,这些事物从汽车、食品和移动电话到办公大楼、碗和杯子。全球强劲的经济增长意味着生活质量的提高。这也意味着污染、生态系统退化和物种损失。

2005年千年生态系统评估》发现24种生态系统服务中有60%“正在退化或不可持续地使用。”我们的经济系统帮助各国致富,但并未考虑环境成本或环境影响或诸如栖息地破坏,水等事物的影响 污染或物种损失。

庆祝2020年世界地球日

(Photo credit: Counterpoint.lk)

“数百年来,人类一直在破坏生态系统。然而在过去的五十年中,这一过程加速了[…]。由此导致的生态系统服务丢失通常具有重大的社会成本和经济成本[….]全球海洋捕捞业每年的捕捞量低于1000亿美元,有可能面临在接下来的四十年内崩溃的风险。估计也处于风险之中的是3500万个工作岗位,主要是在小型手工渔业,以及发展中国家超过十亿人的健康,这些人以鱼为主要或唯一的动物蛋白来源。” 通过衡量生态系统服务以及增加或减少生命维持价值的价值,人类将能够更好地管理和减少我们对环境的影响。

尽管有些人可能将全球地球日与嬉皮士和1970年代初的北美相关联,但这一天已成为代表全球可持续发展的日子。世界地球日目的是向世界展示人们关心地球并支持人类与地球的积极变化。2020年是地球日的50周年纪念日,包括中国在内的世界各地都会有很多活动。

庆祝2020年世界地球日

(Photo credit: Hawaiimagazine.com)

Life Solutions水福来的使命是通过出色的客户服务和对环境负责的解决方案来激发中国向安全健康的饮用水过渡,Life Solutions水福来为支持全球地球日感到自豪。我们持久高效的清洁饮用水产品可为客户提供必需的饮用水,还能避免使用有污染的一次性塑料。

最后,我们为我们的社会合作伙伴Green Initiatives和Collective Responsibility感到自豪。这些组织正在使人们认识和理解亚洲人民面临的环境、经济和社会挑战。他们还在大中华地区提供计划和服务,以创造可持续性高质量生活和商业利益。

生命以及所有生命的价值远远超出了经济价值。无所作为和消耗高污染产品的成本远远超过了可持续的习惯和产品所带来的收益。我们都称地球为家, 在这个世界地球日,让我们尽一切可能发挥积极作用。

“我们不是从祖先那里继承了地球,而是从我们的孩子那里借来的。”
美国原住民谚语

有关避免塑料使用、可持续清洁饮用水系统的任何疑问,请随时与我们联系。

    请验证您是人类,选择 钥匙